The popularity of engagement rings in Australia is increasing with the number of people getting married. The trend is also seen among millennials, who are more likely to buy engagement rings than their parents. Celebratory engagement rings have been around for centuries, and they have evolved. They were initially made from gold, but now they can be made from other materials like platinum, silver, or diamonds. The newly introduced Australian laws require au engagement rings to be sold with clear labelling of the metal type, purity, and weight. This is in response to the growing number of people who have been buying fake engagement rings online. This law protects consumers from being ripped off by unscrupulous sellers. It also aims to reduce the number of people unknowingly wearing phony jewellery.



The clarity in engagement rings is essential to consider when buying one. The clarity is the amount of light that shines through the au engagement rings, measured in grades from FL-IF. The refractive index of the gem determines its clarity of a gem. The refractive index measures how light is bent when it enters or exits a gem. As a general understanding, the higher the refractive index, the more light is bent and the clearer the gem appears.

The general refractive index is 1.42 to 1.52. This means that diamonds are about twice as clear as cubic zirconia, with an average refractive index of 1.33 to 1.36. An “F” graded diamond has numerous very small inclusions in the gemstone, invisible to the naked eye. An “IF” grade diamond has no visible inclusions under 10x magnification.


Carats are a type of gemstone that is used in engagement rings. They are typically cut into round, oval, pear, and marquise shapes. The carat weight is the gemstone’s weight before it has been cut or faceted. The carat can be divided into 100 points, each point being 0.2 grams or 200 milligrams (0.2 grams = 1/5th of a gram). The carat weight for an emerald is roughly 2.5 milligrams, while a diamond is approximately 0.2 grams.


Gem certification is a process that ensures the quality of engagement rings. It is a process that has been in place for decades and is used by many jewellers.

The GIA is one of Australia’s most reputable and trustworthy certifications; they have been certifying diamonds, emeralds, rubies, sapphires, and other gems since 1948.

GIA Diamond Certification ensures the quality of diamonds. It is a process that has been in place for over 100 years and is trusted by consumers worldwide.

The certification is an international standard for diamond grading and authentication and provides consumers with a reliable, independent, and impartial source of information about diamonds.

The GIA Diamond Certification process includes four steps:

1) The diamond is submitted to GIA for grading;

2) The diamond is examined under 10x magnification;

3) The diamond’s cut grade is determined;

4) The diamond’s colour grade is determined.


Engagement celebration rings are a symbol of love and commitment. They are also a costly investment. It is essential to verify all aspects of the engagement ring while choosing one. The most important thing to consider when buying an engagement ring is the diamond quality. The cut, clarity, and colour should be verified before purchasing. The other important factor to consider is the setting of the ring. The setting should be chosen based on personal preference and the person’s style of wearing it.

Related Post